Monthly Archives: April 2013
Sooner or later, we are going to look up in a game and realize that there is another player in the goalkeeper position than when we started the match. What do we do? It helps to know the relevant Law and Advice.
Changing the goalkeeper: Any of the other players may change places with the goalkeeper, provided that
- the referee is notified before the change is made
- the change is made during a stoppage in the match
If a player changes places with a goalkeeper without the referee’s permission before the change is made:
- the referee allows play to continue
- the referee cautions the players concerned when the ball is next out of play
In the 79th minute of the April 20 Sunderland-Everton match, Sunderland’s Larsson possessed a ball near mid-field and sent a strike on his own net. Sunderland keeper Mignolet had to leap to catch the ball and keep it from entering for an own goal. So what did Referee Phil Dowd have? Was this a “back pass” violation?
The “back pass” violation, like “hand ball”, is shorthand for the uninitiated. We referees recognize that there is no Law prohibiting a pass back to the keeper. There is not even a Law that prohibits the keeper from picking up a pass from a teammate – unless the pass was kicked deliberately by the foot of the teammate (we note also that the GK cannot pick up a throw-in from a teammate).A GK may handle a ball that is played (without trickery) by the head, chest, thigh, knee or shin of a teammate – in fact any legal touch by a teammate on a ball in play except a touch by the foot.